What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

My Weirdest Inspection Ever - Can You Top This?

Recently I was asked about the weirdest inspection I have ever done. That was an easy one!

Years ago I pulled up to a very well maintained property. Not much unusual at first glance – white siding, black roof, black shutters, window and door trim. As is my custom, I looked at the outside and met my clients when they arrived to walk around again with them. It was time to go inside.

The Realtor opened the door and everyone invited me to go first. I wondered about the nervous giggling behind me. They wanted to see my reaction.

The door opened to the living room. The carpet and ceiling were black. The walls and the furniture were all white. The pictures on the walls were all framed in black, containing black and white photos and art. I turned around to laughter. The look on my face must have telegraphed volumes! What is this?!

I proceeded into the dining room. It was opposite the living room – the carpet and ceiling were white. And the walls and furniture were black. The pictures on the walls were framed in white, and again, with all black and white photos and art. The plates and such in the black cabinet were white, as was the bowl in the center of the black table. The “fruit” in the bowl was black and white.

I am not kidding

The hallway off the other side of the living room was opposite the living room scheme. The bedrooms off the hall were opposite the hall. All the black and white carpets abutted perfectly. Door frames were opposite the walls, bedroom furniture opposite the carpets. I probably don’t need to mention the colors of the clothing in the closets…

The whole house followed like this! Curtains and blinds were appropriate for the room, black or white, even with patterns.  Pillows and throws the same - opposites of what they accented.  Everything was very coordinated.

There were two bathrooms. The hall bath had white floor and fixtures, with the black wall tile, all opposite the hallway outside. The master bath was opposite the other bathroom and the master bedroom, with black floor and fixtures and white wall tile. The floors in both were black and white tile checkerboards.

The kitchen was very interesting! It had a black floor and black ceiling (opposite the adjoining dining room) with white counters, cabinets, back splash and appliances. The small appliances on the counter were a mix of black and white.

The house was meticulously maintained, everywhere. There was very little to report on during the inspection. Any colors in the house, things such as brooms, books, tools, detergent boxes, cleanser bottles, etc, were behind closed doors or inside cabinets. No color met the eye. Anywhere.

The crowning finish was the two car garage! Exactly half was entirely painted white and the other half entirely painted black. There were black cabinets, shelves and pegboard on the white side, with the opposite on the black side. On the black side was parked a white car. The car on the white side was missing.

I am going to bet that car was not blue… but that is just me…

Everyone reading this has seen their share of, um, interesting décor. And quirkiness! Can you top this!?

My recommendation: Different strokes for different folks. Live and let live!

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 33 commentsJay Markanich • February 17 2009 09:31AM

Comments

That's funny, Jay, and reminds me of my neighbor. He used to be a very colorful guy. About six months ago, a woman moved in with him. She had been coming by for a few weeks, always dressed in all black in her white Mercedes. Ever since she moved in, he wears nothing but black. She has converted him to "the dark side" I guess.

Posted by Not a real person over 10 years ago

Jay, that is too funny---never had anything like that on an inspection.  I did house sit for a friend where Everything was white----and I mean everything-----the only color was the art work on the walls.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) over 10 years ago

Hi Jay, great story! That would be something to see! That's going to be hard to top.

Posted by Mike Mitchell, REALTOR (R) (Real Living Kee Realty) over 10 years ago

Hi Jay ~ I love it! I'm always attracted to places - no matter how kooky - where the owner commits to a theme and carries it through to the extreme.  What a memorable house - you have to wonder where they moved and what they did with their new place.

Liz

Posted by Elizabeth Bolton, Cambridge MA Realtor (RE/MAX Destiny Real Estate Cambridge, MA) over 10 years ago

Hi Jay! What a great story. It just goes to show you never know what you'll find when you walk into other people's homes.

Posted by Lisa Udy, Logan Utah Realtor ( Platinum Real Estate Group) over 10 years ago

WOW Jay, that is going to be a tough one to beat, and I thought I had seen it all. You win.

                                             ~ Life is Good

 

                                                                             

Posted by Roy A. Peterson, P.R.E.I. (Domicile Analysis of Texas) over 10 years ago

I would have loved to have seen that house! It sounds like an interesting place to say the least!

Posted by Brent Johnson (Chase International South Tahoe Realty) over 10 years ago

Too funny.....I once took a client into a home and the master bedroom had a 6" border around the top of the walls where crown molding would be that was black lace....the bed was in red and black. Best little whore house in Orange County.

Posted by Karen Fiddler, Broker/Owner, Orange County & Lake Arrowhead, CA (949)510-2395 (Karen Parsons-Fiddler, Broker 949-510-2395) over 10 years ago

Russel - did he change his name to Yoda (who lived, in hiding, on the dark side) or The Emperor?  Does he wear a Hoodie?

Charlie - was the TV programmed to only show black and white?  I should have checked at this particular house - wow, opportunity missed!

Mike - how about with whipped cream and a black cherry?

Well, Elizabeth - THIS was commitment!

Lisa - you shouldn't say stuff like that to home inspectors.  It might start a babbling stream of unheard of info!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Can you imagine trying to paint over the Black?  Many coats of Primer!  It would interesting to see in person I am sure

Posted by Robert Rauf (HomeBridge Financial Services (NJ)) over 10 years ago

Roy - glad you enjoyed it, but I wasn't trying to win!!

Brent - interesting yes, with a lot of nervous giggling...

Karen - what color was the bulb in the lamp?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Imagine the statement they could have made with one piece of color art.

At least they are committed ......................... or they should be.

Posted by Quad Cities My RealTeam (Mel Foster Co.) (Keith Allen Allborty ) over 10 years ago

Robert - fer sher...  But what do you do about the cabinets and tile?

Keith and Shellye - THAT would have to have been one special piece of art work!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

No Jay, I can't top that!  Not even close!  I was expecting you to say that the hallway in the middle of the house was gray...  :)

Posted by Amanda Christiansen, Christiansen Group Realty (Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843) over 10 years ago

Okay, nope, cannot top that - although I would have given anything to have seen it.  I'm afraid it might have brought on a bit of vertigo, though...just a little too over the top for me!  LOL

Posted by Susan Haughton, Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results. (Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545) over 10 years ago

Jared - maybe the missing car in the garage was...?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Susan - a lot of what one can see in Sugarland Run can lend a little vertigo...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

I would pay $20 to meet that owner to figure out what they were thinking!!!  I would think it would take a very interesting person to take things that far.

Posted by Diane & Bob Arenholz, Covering all of Westchester County, NY (William RAVEIS Realty) over 10 years ago

Diane & Bob - interesting, totally color blind, trying to win a huge bet, political statement?  You can go on and on in wondering what they were thinking!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

A little like this....

This was to be a rehab. Can you imagine painting those walls. Nothing like yours, but people are a little different.

Posted by Jack Gilleland (Home Inspection and Investor Services, Clayton) over 10 years ago

Jack - yes!  When I say black walls, or floors, or ceilings, I mean black.  Well done, you should understand.  But weird, like the title says!

Wow, your photo sure has a lot of color...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Jay,

You run into some extremely weird stuff in this field.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) over 10 years ago

Steven - Yepper!  People, circumstances, growing things, rodentia...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

We need pictures to see this.  You should have taken lots of them!

Posted by Barbara S. Duncan, GRI, e-PRO, Executive Broker, Searcy AR (RE/MAX Advantage) over 10 years ago

Barbara - this was a few years ago and if I still had pictures I don't know where they might be!  However, this was someone's house and publishing something like that might not be too polite.  Who knows, it might even engender repercussions of one sort or another. If they were to find out they might feel I was making fun or something.

I'd want to see pctures too if I was you!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

I have nothing that can top that! I use an infrared camera on my inspections, so I get to see lots of colors...

Posted by Chris Sajnog, Center Mass Group (Center Mass Group) over 10 years ago

Chris - I get lots of IR business from the one-year inspections that look for fallen or missing insulation.  That shows some fun colors!  But, unfortunately, what I find is not unusual!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Actually, white (in light color anyway) is all the colors mixed together, so in theory, it was a very colorful home :)

I had a neighbor who had a "black" room in their house with all white furniture. The ceiling was carpeted with black as well (totally 70's) Too bad you can't post pictures of the house you saw!

Posted by Susan Gonzalez Faux painting murals atlanta (Marietta Mural & Decorative Design) over 10 years ago

Susan - yes, white is the entire spectrum!  But when you look at it, it appears as though there is no color.  Your neighbor's room would be the beginning of this house!  You know why I can't post pictures - this was someone's house and I don't want to make fun...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

I have some good ones but will leave you shining for now on that story

Posted by Jeff Remas, Inspector Jeff (Advanced Code Group) over 10 years ago

Hey Jeff!  Pray tell - I am not trying to win!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

Jay,

Never had weird decor such as what you found, but had a memorable inspection.

It was a FSBO so no agent. I met the buyers at the house and the sellers husband was there to let us in. Turns out he and the wife were getting divorced and he was cleaning out some stuff. Apparently his wife didn't know this as she must've called and found out he was there taking things away.

Soon she comes up the road, you could tell it was her, she was driving fast. Problem was we had just had some snow earlier that morning. She tries to turn into the driveway and goes straight into the buyers big SUV.

Things turned from bad to worse after that point. The police arrived, the husband left, the buyer had to get her car towed and I got stuck finishing the inspection with a sobbing wife. Fun!

Never a dull moment somedays.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) over 10 years ago

James - good one!  You shouldn't make the girls cry...

I am in the habit of getting to inspections early.  Once I did, and got the only remaining "visitor" space.  At the end of the inspection, I am working on the report and the buyers are both looking out the window.  They notice two tow trucks, each with one of their cars.  They both ran from the house, and I was left, alone, to work on the report...  They came back about 20 minutes later.  Had to pay the tow guys $50 each to drop their cars.  At the lot it would have cost more.  To say the least, they weren't in a good mood.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 10 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments