What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

How About Maybe Fixing This Before The Inspection?

This house touted "new" dormer windows for the upstairs bedrooms - but how about maybe fixing this before the inspection?

One of the features of this house was the addition of two newer dormers.

This is the dormer in question.  You can see from this photo its relation to the rest of the original roofing of the house.

From the outside they both looked great.  They add light and a window to two different bedrooms.

But getting into one bedroom this is what we saw.

Obviously the roof of this dormer window has leaking problems.

And to prevent an electrical issue with the light fixture they removed it!

My clients had already seen this!  Nothing had been done between their putting in a contract and our inspection! 

Usually people fix problems like this before they even put the house on the market!

But in this case the sellers did not.  And even more surprisingly, they didn't fix it prior to the inspection!

And according to the moisture meter, everything was as wet as you imagine.  This is an ongoing problem and leak.

So now what?

My recommendation:  it's best to have problems resolved before a house goes on the market, but certainly before a home inspector sees them!    The fewer the issues and concerns that pop up during a home inspection the better!  The home inspector is there to observe and report, but not to analyze and tell sellers what should be done with anything found!  Now the negotiating begins and that is where the rubs start!  Repairs will have to be approved by the buyer!  What if... what if...

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 14 commentsJay Markanich • October 04 2014 06:01AM

Comments

 Good morning Jay. It is amazing how much stuff that we see that could not wind up in the report if sellers did their due diligence.  Maybe they think that we are like Scholz and see absolutely nothing.

Posted by TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.) over 4 years ago

Good morning Jay Markanich I suspect that the sellers wanted an "as is" situation to arise.... rarely happens....

Posted by Barbara Todaro, Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team (RE/MAX Executive Realty ) over 4 years ago

Jay, the prudent seller will get a home inspection before listing the property! Enjoy your day!

Posted by Wayne Martin, Real Estate Broker - Retired (Wayne M Martin) over 4 years ago

Good gravy.  This always amazes me when something so blatant and isn't fixed before listing.

Posted by Chris Griffith, Bonita Springs Listing Agent (Downing-Frye Realty, Bonita Springs, FL) over 4 years ago

Morning Jay interesting issue and keep us informed as to the outcome please

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) over 4 years ago

Michael - would be nice!  But often people who are selling don't understand the process and the listing agent has not been too forthcoming with instructions.

Could be Barbara.  But these sorts of things, as in this room, cause more concerns than necessary.

Wayne - I have been trying to crack that market for years here, without success.

Chris - this wasn't the only thing!  The "remodeled" bathroom had issues inside and underneath!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

James - maybe they will keep me informed.  So often sellers simply try to throw money at the buyers so the whole thing goes away for them.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

It would surely make sense to at least, at least, do those times that you know about and will not be overlooked by anyone. Show some effort sellers! 

Posted by Tom Arstingstall, General Contractor, Dry Rot, Water Damage Sacramento, El Dorado County - (916) 765-5366, General Contractor, Dry Rot and Water Damage (Dry Rot and Water Damage www.tromlerconstruction.com Mobile - 916-765-5366) over 4 years ago

Tom - one thing it makes me, and buyers, wonder is what other things do the sellers know about that they haven't bothered to repair?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Jay, I still always wonder when modification are done and yet the obvious was not corrected when work was performed. This happens all too often.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Don - maybe Cousin Clem saw how to install a dormer on HGTV and did it perfectly, minus the flashing?  And maybe insulation!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Yicks...this is an amendment to the inspection report waiting to happen...why wait ??

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) over 4 years ago

Maybe the sellers thought they'd get a buyer who didn't care about such an eyesore and problem? Wishful thinking on their part...

Posted by Suzanne Otto, Your Montgomery County PA home stager (Six Twenty Designs) over 4 years ago

It is S&D, but even more as it creates doubt in the minds of the buyers.

Who knows what they are thinking Suzanne.  Wishful thinking indeed.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments