What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

A Pleasurable Inspection - Sure, There Was Stuff, But Pleasurable

This really was a pleasurable inspection - sure, there was stuff, but pleasurable.

Obviously the design of the original house, front and back, brings to mind Mount Vernon, George Washington's inherited home.  Two more recent additions to the original house have been added on each side.

Mount Vernon is just up the street to the left of this house.  The rear portico shares virtually the same view of the Potomac River that Mr. Washington had.  You are looking at Maryland in the distance.

Built in 1939, this house was meant to look like Mount Vernon.  Built on the original property, for a long while it stood alone, to be surrounded now by a modern neighborhood.

The "cupola" was added later.  It really does not serve the same function as the cupola on top of Mount Vernon did.

Cupolas were 18th century versions of air conditioning.  A cupola was a small tower on top of a big hole through the roof.  Full of windows that could be opened, when they were, and the windows and doors were opened elsewhere in the house, air would flow from high pressure to low pressure, entering the house through windows and doors and exiting at the cupola.  Convection kept the air moving.  Air conditioning!

Pure physics.

The "cupola" in this photo is cosmetic.

When I was in the back yard here, I heard a screech overhead and, looking up, a large bald eagle flew over my head.  I was invading, and he landed further away and watched my every move.

I was also interesting to the local squatters, living here inside the roof.  Notice the damage below the gutter.  The front door they created for their residency has allowed for water to enter.

It is a big house!  The inspection took a while.  It has its problems!

But how wonderful to be there and enjoy its ambiance.

My recommendation:  home inspectors are introduced to many different areas, eras, home designs and architecture.  It is a fun occupation!  Sure, there are things to investigate and report on, but day after day we experience different things, meet terrific people and enjoy our business!  This home inspector LOVES his work, and if I could do home inspections for free, I TRULY WOULD.

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 24 commentsJay Markanich • May 29 2014 03:53AM

Comments

Wonder how much the little bird pays, the rental income for the roof top condo he is perched next to?

Posted by Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573, Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker (MOOERS REALTY) almost 5 years ago

How cool, Jay.  Yes, I can definitely see the resemblance w/ Mount Vernon.  Thx for the lesson on the cupola.  I didn't realize that, but it makes complete sense.

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) almost 5 years ago

I believe he rents his home for a song, Andrew.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Sometimes during the Mount Vernon tour they will demonstrate it Debbie.  But not often.  People think it's a cutsie detail.

Once during a tour, while in the garden house, we were all looking out the window and I said that at night Elvis's image would appear in the garden shadows.  The tour lady did NOT appreciate my humor.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

O.K. ActiveRain.  I'll try to post this comment again.   No thanks for dumping it before. 

I love that area of Alexandria and this home is quite typical.  Wonderful waterfront lot of which there are few. 

BTW, how does air flow from low pressure to high pressure??

Posted by Lenn Harley, Real Estate Broker - Virginia & Maryland (Lenn Harley, Homefinders.com, MD & VA Homes and Real Estate) almost 5 years ago

Jay- this was one if our favorite areas when we lived in Leesburg. It's not often that your Inspections are so historical and pleasant!

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) almost 5 years ago

Ha!  OK, it doesn't Lenn!  I had read that and had the high cupola in my mind earlier!  I was thinking it didn't look right, but let it go!  Change made...

That is a very fun area to go to.  The GW Parkway is a wonderful drive.

Kathy - go to my website and see all the Civil War blogs!  Here is a great one:

http://www.jaymarinspect.com/manassas-battlefield-drummer-boy.html

Enjoy!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Jay, a very entertaining post! I didn't know that about the cupola, but let's face it, there's a lot of things I don't know! In Franklin TN we have a number of civil war era homes as well as antebellum homes that are a real kick to view. Always a treat to see how they dealt with hot summer temps.

Posted by Tom White, Franklin Homes Realty LLC, Franklin TN (Franklin Homes Realty LLC (615) 495-0752 or www.FranklinHomesRealty.com) almost 5 years ago

Thanks Tom.  We have a few of them there Civil War homes in Virginia too!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Jay, I had to come back to tell you that I went to your website and have bookmarked it future reading!  My husband and I fell in love with the area (we lived in Leesburg) when we lived there and went to every Civil War site we could. 

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) almost 5 years ago

Kathy - What?  You were just down the street from my house and didn't stop in?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Any home will have problems but from what you have described I'm sure the soon to be owners will enjoy the home and the view.

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) almost 5 years ago

They have determined that the entire basement will have to be gutted and redone due to the moisture issues I found James!  Not a small basement!  But the buyers have the money.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

It  is how we feel about real estate....if you really love what you do....it shows and does not feel like work at all.

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) almost 5 years ago

I have a lot of fun S&D and serious times too.  But I'd do it for free.

After a couple of 19 hour days in a row, though, it sure feels like work!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) almost 5 years ago

Thank you Kathy.  Your mentioning me there is always a pleasure!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Way to go!  Great post and certainly worthy of getting into Kathys week highlights!

Posted by Kristin Johnston - REALTOR®, Giving Back With Each Home Sold! (RE/MAX Realty Center ) almost 5 years ago

Thanks to Kathy I got to come over and enjoy your post... I like the photos a lot... Happy Day

Posted by Beth and Richard Witt, Long Island Cash Home Buyer 516-330-6940 (Long Island Cash Home Buyer) almost 5 years ago

Thanks Kristin.  I like doing inspections on properties like this one!

R&B - I glad Kathy sent you over!  Stop by any time!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Jay, to be slightly more accurate, "stack effect" is what keeps the air moving

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) almost 5 years ago

Stack effect is such a home inspector word Charlie.  I am more of a generalist, and general terms, like convection.

;>)

But, you're right, of course.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

Hi Jay. Thanks for sharing your experiences. Always learning something from you. Glad you so enjoy what you do, too. That's quite a perk!
Bruce

Posted by Bruce Kunz, REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale (C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100) almost 5 years ago

I bet a cupola on top of your house is cheaper than your AC system, Bruce.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 5 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments