What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

Wow, A House That's Solid And Smart, And My Inspection Found No Flaws

When I saw it I could only say, wow, a house that's solid and smart, and my inspection found no flaws.

The MLS could read, "Move in ready!  Turn key living!  Well insulated split level with two master bedroom suites.  Large enough for the whole family, and plenty left over when you become empty nesters!  The second bedroom can be used for storage!  Great foundation, new roof, and able to withstand whatever nature throws at it, from wind and rain, to ice and snow!  Special sun-shading canopy provided in summer!  All local codes are satisfied, and even exceeded to employ Best Practice construction standards.  Residents not anxious to move, so offers need to be real."

Obviously a popular neighborhood (I saw a half dozen of these nearby), this little beauty will not last long on the market.

And a busy family lives there, coming and going while I was watching.  Well, it was a Saturday.  Maybe they were, um, shopping.

This one and every one of the nests nearby were sitting on a triple-crotch split somewhere on a tree, just as this one is.  Not a single one was different.  And all of them had residents that were busy, coming and going, carrying things to, and from, the nest.  None was lower than 40 or 50 feet high.

Nature, and instinct, is remarkably consistent.  None lacked proper standards for longevity, insulation and strength.  Would that we Two Legs had such consistency in our building standards!

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 20 commentsJay Markanich • December 27 2013 04:17AM

Comments

Awwww...you almost had me ready to move in....then there is my thing about heights !

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (Keller Williams 414-525-0563) over 4 years ago

Those darn stairs can be pesky S&D!  These are for the more nimble occupants.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Good morning Jay,

You got me and yes they seem to be neighborhoods.

Make yourself a great day.

Posted by Raymond E. Camp, Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester (Howard Hanna Real Estate Services) over 4 years ago

Hi Jay,

Maybe the only thing I can think of is that there was no running water. Better go back after they get the water turned on. LOL

Have a great new years celebration in Bristow my friend.

Best, Clint McKie

Posted by Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) over 4 years ago

LOL. I'm not sure that it would be friendly at the closing table.  They are pretty territorial.

Posted by Women of Westchester Working Together, Women helping Women get ahead (Women of Westchester Working Together) over 4 years ago

Raymond - and people think we inspectors don't post about the good stuff...

Clint - I think that is the purpose of having the limbs run through the outside walls of the house.

Rug Cousin - it should be at a neutral site.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Jay, you must have consulted with Nutsy about this post.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) over 4 years ago

The title had me excited Jay; I thought you have a home inspection that had no flaws! I'm still in search of that perfect home my friend.  :)

Posted by Tom Arstingstall, General Contractor, Dry Rot, Water Damage Sacramento, El Dorado County - (916) 765-5366, General Contractor, Dry Rot and Water Damage (Dry Rot and Water Damage www.tromlerconstruction.com Mobile - 916-765-5366) over 4 years ago

There must be a formal dining room in there somewhere. I heard they wear "tails" to dinner! Sorry...

Posted by Tom White, Franklin Homes Realty LLC, Franklin TN (Franklin Homes Realty LLC (615) 495-0752 or www.FranklinHomesRealty.com) over 4 years ago

I was with Tom A., I thought you found the perfect house!

Posted by Suzanne Otto, Your Montgomery County PA home stager (Six Twenty Designs) over 4 years ago

And there I was...waiting for a picture of the actual house. 

Posted by Marc McMaster, Putting my clients before myself (RE/MAX Centre Realty) over 4 years ago

I didn't Charlie.  He seems to have retired.  To that Big Squirrel Nest in the sky?

Tom - we likely won't find that one any time soon, outside of this, and perhaps other, natural houses!

Tom - and why not wear tails?  You are what you eat!  Nuts anyone?

Suzanne - I'll let you know when I do!

And what did you get Marc?  An actual house!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Jay, apparently--perhaps my new squirrel-skin gloves has something to do with it :)

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) over 4 years ago

That could put a damper on how thick or thin skinned Nutsy is, Charlie.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Hello Jay,

Clever, clever, clever...your title pulled me in (in shock) as I didn't think it could be right...but it was.  

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) over 4 years ago

Well, is it move in ready or not Lisa?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

Jay-Probably was completed without any city/county inspections too. Is that a good thing?

Posted by Wayne Johnson, San Antonio REALTOR, San Antonio Homes For Sale (Coldwell Banker D'Ann Harper REALTORS®) over 4 years ago

Wayne - I'm going to bet that the County inspectors don't go up that high, so obviously this builder found a loop hole!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

For our feathered friends it is definitely move-in ready...

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) over 4 years ago

That's a lot of room for birds Lisa.  Maybe ducks?  Squirrels are really good at housing!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 4 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments