What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

Inspection Class Was In Session

Approaching a backyard shed I was greeted by what was obviously a group of eager students wanting to watch and learn.  They followed me around as I looked about.

There was one recalcitrant fellow, strutting around, even talking loudly during class.  He feinted at me a couple of times to show me that he was truly in charge of the class.  But he stopped when he realized that I wasn't chicken.

 

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 21 commentsJay Markanich • January 27 2013 04:22AM

Comments

Looks like no one flew the coop.  Funny.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 5 years ago

I was the pied piper of chickens for a while there Gabe.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Good morning, Jay.... I've heard of "the hens on the roof" but they sure did make a mess of that shed!!!

Posted by Barbara Todaro, "Franklin MA Homes" (RE/MAX Executive Realty ) over 5 years ago

It was Barbara, but thankfully most of what was on the ground was frozen!  This represents about half the chickens!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Jay;  I hope your class didn't "lay a egg"

Posted by Kenneth Cole, NYS Licensed Real Estate Salesperson (Weichert Realtors Appleseed Group, 2043 Richmond Ave. S.I.N.Y. 10314. office phone 718-698-9797, Appleseedhomes.com -) over 5 years ago

Half the class was in the shed to the left doing just that Ken!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

I ran into these girls a while ago. They were curious, but not into learning. 
Cluck, cluck :)

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) over 5 years ago

Excellent Jay! Thanks for starting my Sunday out with something light. Hope they are not in the class I will be attending a few minutes from now this Sunday morning.

Posted by Bob "RealMan" Timm, Bob Timm, Project Coordinator for Tivoli Homes (Tivoli Custom Homes) over 5 years ago

Hi Jay,

Never know what is going to be the adventure of the day. Good way to see if there are any one playing chicken with the sale though. LOL

Gotta love inspecting.

Have a good day in Bristow my friend.

Best, Clint McKie

Posted by Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) over 5 years ago

I bet that was as much fun for you as it was me, Jim!  Did the rooster give you the what for?

Bob - it was fun and light!  In my SS class today I am focusing on Gal 5: 22, 23.  No chickens likely, but some cackling probably.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Clint - I told the seller that I knew where to come if I needed a big, fat chicken for dinner.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Now I know why you blog so much, you have a lot to crow about.

Posted by Rafi Footerman, Home Inspector, Mold Inspector, Radon and More! (Mid Jersey Inspections) over 5 years ago

I have heard that chickens are great at getting rid of pests in your yard...but then you do have to wipe your shoes extra well when you go inside.  Better yet, take them off altogether!

Posted by Kathryn Maguire, Serving Chesapeake, Norfolk, VA Beach (GreatNorfolkHomes.com (757) 560-0881) over 5 years ago

Crow Rafi?  I eat crow a lot, but don't crow about it...

Kathryn - this yard was a mess!  I tried extra hard to track it all inside.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Jay, did they pay for class with eggs, scrambled or otherwise? Until 2 years ago we had chickens. Mike and I love the fresh eggs, but we kept our coop a distance from the house.

Posted by Suesan Jenifer Therriault, "Inspecting every purchase as if it were my own". (JTHIS-Professional Home Inspection Team) over 5 years ago

Which one is you? I hope you inspected that coop thoroughly... Bawk!

Posted by Fred Hernden, CMI, Albuquerque area Master Inspector (Superior Home Inspections - Greater Albuquerque Area) over 5 years ago

Sue - my payment was psychic.   This coop was only about 30 yards from the house!

Fred - I'm taking the photo silly!  I say at the end that I am no chicken!  And I looked in every nook, cranny and nest.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Jay, thanks for waking me up on Monday morning with a little bit of humor. 

And congrats on featured post for today's post about front porches.

Posted by Mary Yonkers, Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor (Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate) over 5 years ago

Glad you enjoyed it Mary!  It was a fun little moment in the inspection.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

Jay, You did not let them ruffle your feathers did ya ; ) I had inspected this one home and the crawlspace the chickens had access to, it was so clean of bugs. Actually was a pretty good job by the feathered ones.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

The rooster tried Don, but I didn't get intimidated and he gave up.  That crawl may have been clean of bugs, but not poop.  This yard was a mess!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 5 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments