What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

You Know It's Going To Be A Fun Inspection When ...

You know it's going to be a fun inspection when ...

The first thing you see is not quite correct!

So, did the boys cut and install a floor register that is too big?

Or, did the boys simply buy and install the wrong sized register covers?

How about a quiz?

Pick any that might apply:

1.  This is an upgrade.  It's a laundry chute for GI Joe or Barbi & Ken clothing.
2.  There is nothing amiss here.  Keep going about your inspection.  Everything is fine.  (Jedi mind trick)
3.  The register cover is made to slide left and right depending on the season and desired air flow.
4.  It is the new RESNET and LEEDS register cover, and if all goes to plan these will be installed in all green homes from here on.  This is the test house.
5.  The supervisor says its correct but will check his literature nonetheless.
6.  The proper covers are on order and will be here next Tuesday.  Even though the builder knew the inspection was today, gosh, good golly, they were so darn busy they didn't get around to ordering them until just this morning!  Silly them!  They just wanted something to cover the slots for safety reasons, so they slipped these into place.  They are always thinking about their buyers, you know!
7.  None of the above.
8.  All of the above.

The builder desperately wants everyone to think that 6 is the right answer.  Reading body language, facial expressions, fumbling sentence structure and general nervousness, I'm pretty sure nobody knew the covers were wrong until that morning when they went to put them in place.  So 7 is the correct answer.

Personally I'm going with 1.  Is that a cool upgrade or what?!  I should ask how much it was ... (thinking ahead to my next new house)

My recommendation:  you have already met this house many times, pre-drywall and during this "final" walk through.  Don't ever, ever, ever, skip a home inspection on new construction!  If you even think you might, call me and I will calmly talk you back off the ledge.

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 28 commentsJay Markanich • August 25 2012 03:33AM

Comments

How odd and stupid.  Besides the fact that it's easy to measure and these are prob. one of the 4 main sizes, they sell those in hardware stores and Home Depot.

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) about 6 years ago

Good morning, Jay. Looks to be a bad case of non-compos-mentos or should I say non-Compost-mentos. Some folks cannot pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel...

Posted by TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.) about 6 years ago

Hi Jay.  So worth the few dollars that it will cost!    New doesn't always mean right.

Posted by Carol-Ann Palmieri, "Cal" the Real Estate Gal (RE/MAX Executive Realty, Al and Cal Realty Group) about 6 years ago

Good morning Jay,

Thank you, I needed a funny post this morning...it's already been a long day(!)  Ridiculous that something like this happens - really makes one wonder/worry about what can't be seen!

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) about 6 years ago

Well, um, yeah Debbie!  This inspection was just a riot!  Well, for me, not for my client...

Michael - so, you are going with 2 right?  Keep moving along, nothing to see here.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Slight oversights like this all over the house made this a very interesting inspection Carol Ann.  But a bit disconcerting!

Lisa - I already took care of a couple of dozen of those things on the pre-drywall inspection!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

I am not surprised...lucky buyers (to have you!)

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) about 6 years ago

Thanks Lisa, but that's what we inspectors do!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Good morning Professor;  This test was given to us in kindergarten, too easy for those of us who follow your classes.  Give us something a little harder, and no multiple choice, make us think a little.

Posted by Kenneth Cole, NYS Licensed Real Estate Salesperson (Weichert Realtors Appleseed Group, 2043 Richmond Ave. S.I.N.Y. 10314. office phone 718-698-9797, Appleseedhomes.com -) about 6 years ago

The office had a property tour of the newly listed homes.  One was a DWMH that was in good shape.  On the tour through the kitchen, in the floor was a vent cover for the HVAC.  One agent that was not watching where she was walking stepped on the cover and bang it broke and her foot went into the vent up to almost her knee.

The cover was made out of plastic and could not hold her weight.  That was the first time I had seen a plastic cover on a floor vent.  The agent was not hurt except for her pride but this could have been a broken leg.

Posted by Richard Burge Realty/ Burge Homes, Broker in Charge/Owner (Richard Burge Realty/Burge Homes) about 6 years ago

Morning Jay I see Uncle Bob is at it again.  Needless to say I agree number 7 is the right answer to this one.  Enjoy the day

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) about 6 years ago

You would think that people would have more pride in their workmanship than to allow something like that.  I guess I will just keep dreaming that this is the case!

Posted by Kathryn Maguire, Serving Chesapeake, Norfolk, VA Beach (GreatNorfolkHomes.com (757) 560-0881) about 6 years ago

Way to go and the builder should be embarrassed by such sloppiness, especially if you have already caught other shenagigans.  Ohhh, buyer beware of what is yet to come!  They are lucky to have you on the job.  Like a "Holmes Inspection".

Sue of Robin and Sue

Posted by Robin Dampier REALTOR®, Hendersonville & Western NC Real Estate Source (Coldwell Banker King) about 6 years ago

It is just another home and another day of home inspections. Next Next

Posted by Harry F. D'Elia, Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR (Real Estate and Beyond, LLC) about 6 years ago

You know, Jay, I really enjoy your blog posts. You can't make this stuff up but you do communicate it in a clever and enjoyable format. I like slide it left or right

Posted by Doug Dawes, Your Personal Realtor® (Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA) about 6 years ago

I will take door number 3 with seasonal variety ...and adding that the color could also change to match the season or holiday for additional eye candy.

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) about 6 years ago

OK Ken - essay question:  What would you do about the alarming inconsistency of professionalism in new construction?  Include as many jurisdictions as you feel necessary.

Good luck!

Wow, Richard.  I have never seen a plastic cover.  But wouldn't step on one either metal or plastic!

James - you are probably right.  I favor 1.

Kathryn - keep dreaming!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Thanks Sue, except my inspections aren't edited and done over and over to look good on TV!

That's pretty much it Harry!

Doug - that's as good an answer as any!

S&D - again, probably as good an answer as any!  I think they simply forgot, or really did order the wrong stuff.  It migh be that they usually install the smaller ducts, but in this case mistakenly installed the wider variety and didn't realize until they went to cover them!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Jay, if this builder/property/location is still anonymous (to protect the innocent guilty). on a scale of 1 to 10, 1 being a hateful property and 10 being the best that you have ever seen, where would you rank this home. It would seem that there have been a bunch of significant problems if I remember the correct previous posts. OR, are these maladies actually typical of many properties? It's been quite a time since I bought my last new structure, and it had a huge punch list that I found.

Posted by Brad Rachielles, REALTOR, CDPE, Upland, CA (CENTURY 21 Peak, Ca BRE# 01489453) about 6 years ago

There were significant problems pre-drywall Brad.  They have continued til now.  The client was worried about the number of things, not any one thing taken individually.  My rank?  About a 4 or 5.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Jay, Nothing like paying attention to the details ;) You gotta to know this was one first rate GC on this project.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Don - this was one detail that wasn't hard to see!  Right in front of me as I came up the stairs to the main level!  We had just come in from the front yard where I pointed out three things there.  I knew this one was going to be fun. 

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

Good evening Jay. I had number 7 all the way but like you said I am sure builder is screaming Number 7....really.

Posted by Randy Ostrander, Real Estate Broker, Serving Big Rapids and West Central MI (Lake and Lodge Realty LLC ) about 6 years ago

Not convincingly Randy, but they were saying 6!  I still am partial to 1.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

9. An intruder stop. The poor sap steps in the loose register cover, slips and is incapacitated until police arrive. Pure genius if you ask me. 

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) about 6 years ago

Not bad Jim!  Problem is, then he would sue the buyer, me and the builder for negligence, and retire to his own Caribbean island!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

You're such a cynic. 

He would retire to a South Pacific island. 

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) about 6 years ago

Well, they don't have hurricanes there.  Just typhoons!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 6 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments