What I'm Seeing Now

head_left_image

You Can't See What You Can't See! Get A Pre-drywall Inspection!

Should you get a pre-drywall inspection on new construction? 

YOU CAN'T SEE WHAT YOU CAN'T SEE!  GET A PRE-DRYWALL INSPECTION!

The drywall was to go up that afternoon.  At the last minute someone found MY ACTIVERAIN BLOGS on pre-drywall inspections.  After reading some she was convinced she should get one.

Smart girl!

One teensy thing found was that a hole was cut to run a flexible HVAC duct and put a register in the master bedroom above.

The problem was, running it to this side would have put the register right in front of the sliding glass door to a third-level balcony.

Deciding against that, they decided to go out the other side.  That duct is clearly visible in this picture.

BUT SO IS THE HOLE THEY CUT TO RUN THE OTHER DUCT!  THEY SIMPLY LEFT THE HOLE!

The supervisor told my client that he had the drywall company scheduled to install drywall that afternoon.  And for him to change that schedule, his words, "that inspector needs to find something really important."

This hole not only would have delightfully heated and air conditioned the ceiling space above the mid-level hall and stairwell, but would have dramatically reduced the air flow to the master bedroom!  She would have had to live with it because they would never have figured it out.

I told her that when she brings this up with the supervisor, he would say he knew about it all along and it was already on his list.  I also told her that it needed to be repaired with sheet metal screwed to the duct and sealed with aluminum tape.  AND THAT SHE SHOULD GET A PHOTO OF THE REPAIR TAKEN FROM THE VERY SPOT THIS PHOTO WAS TAKEN FROM!

I can just see them spreading duct tape all over this to "seal" the hole!

My recommendation:  my client had been told many times that she did not need a pre-drywall inspection.  That the construction supervisor was in her house every day checking EVERYTHING that was being done.  That the County would be doing "many inspections."  She was told that so many times she almost bought it.  Until her nagging feeling got the best of her and she called me.  We did this very early in the morning.  When she called she needed an inspection right away.  Really early was the only slot I could give her!  So we made it happen.

I'm glad she did!  So is she.

DON'T EVER BUY THE LINE THAT IT IS A NEW HOME AND INSPECTIONS ARE NOT NECESSARY! 

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 79 commentsJay Markanich • April 17 2011 06:48AM

Comments

Good morning, Jay. What? Your X-Ray vision on the fritz too? Dang. I hate when that happens...

Posted by TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.) over 9 years ago

Getting older Michael.  I admit it.  But my medulla oblongata is working!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Jay, I may be getting redundant but again I wish we had inspectors as zealous in their job as you. I've asked our inspectors about pre-drywall inspections and I just get blank stares. You know we have a heck of a housing boom going on here, surely you must know someone who should come up here and help us out with the high quality type of inspections you are doing.

Posted by Bob "RealMan" Timm, Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor (Ward County Notary Services) over 9 years ago

Re-Blogged... good info for consumers...

Thanks!!!

Posted by Maureen McCabe, Columbus Ohio Real Estate (HER Realtors) over 9 years ago

Hi Jay, good blog about what most consumers don't think about. I used to do framing inspections before drywall. Then the builder quit using me I found too much was his words.

Then why was he getting an inspection. It was to satisfy the banks requirements.

I don't know what he's doing now.

Clint McKie 

Posted by Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) over 9 years ago

"my client had been told many times that she did not need a pre-drywall inspection."

That should send off alarms every time.   The pre-drywall inspection is the most important one, I think.

Posted by Mike Jaquish, 919-880-2769 Cary, NC, Real Estate (Realty Arts) over 9 years ago

Last week my ASHI chapter did a on site training inspection. The house was built in the 1890s and was gutted. It was re framed inside, new roof and windows. The house was a mess! Shoddy work through out. Once the dry wall goes up no one will every see what we saw that day.

Dry wall hides all the sins.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) over 9 years ago

I was going to suggest this until I got to the bottom and saw the gold star.  Wow, great advice for home buyers.  They think "new" equals "perfect" - wrong!

Posted by Margaret Woda, Maryland Real Estate & Military Relocation (Long & Foster Real Estate, Inc.) over 9 years ago

Sheesh.  This is terrible.  Seems like this is the most important inspection to have.  after it's up, it's often impossilbe and/or very costly to fix.

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) over 9 years ago

Jay, great work and an education for those of us that are construction challenged.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 9 years ago

Another great post Jay...

"DON'T EVER BUY THE LINE THAT IT IS A NEW HOME AND INSPECTIONS ARE NOT NECESSARY!"

Truer words have never been spoken.

Posted by Howard and Susan Meyers (The Hudson Company Winnetka and North Shore) over 9 years ago

Jay

This would have been a job for Mighty Mo.  After months of the HVAC guy scratching his head, that is..

 

Lee

Posted by Lee Floyd (Race City Inspections Inc) over 9 years ago

Jay ~ my husband and I learned that the hard way as consumers. All new contruction owners are advised to inspect, inspect, inspect.

Continued Success!

Posted by Anne M. Costello (Weidel Realtors) over 9 years ago

What a difference a day JAY makes....no drywall is safe...no client is harmed....

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) over 9 years ago

Jay, the construction supervisor may have been checking everything out every day, but was he going to take care of any of the problems. The dry wall would have covered this up nicely and no one would have been the wiser. Good call to get the pre dry wall inspection.

Posted by Michael Setunsky, Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA over 9 years ago

Wow, really? Gtrat post, great info I never really knoew about...

Posted by Michael (Mike) Robinson, CRS, CIPs, REALTOR (Broadmoor Realty, Inc.) over 9 years ago

Yet another good post to read.  Thanks for the time to get it out to us.

 

Patricia/Seacoat /NH & ME

Posted by Patricia Aulson, Realtor - Portsmouth NH Homes-Hampton NH Homes (BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY HOME SERVICES Verani Realty NH Real Estate ) over 9 years ago

Bob - of the two new construction inspections, the pre-drywall might be the most important.  It is the only time to see the house in a skeletal state.

Thanks Maureen.  I hope it gets a lot of hits!

Clint - I have never done one for a builder, always new construction buyers.  And I do find a lot!

Mike - that might be true, before the multitude of sins get covered up.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Jim - it is my experience that the Golden Rule is seldom followed when people build for other people! And I often say to my clients that drywall covers a multitude of sins, so I am right with you!

Thanks Margaret for trying! I honestly don't know how these things get featured. And you're right, new is NOT perfect!

Debbie - it would have been harder to find, but not for me if given time - thermal camera and camera on the end of a long snake! But still, no builder will find that a few months later.

You aren't construction challenged Gabe! You are in real estate!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Jay,

 Now post this as an AR success story and claim your 500 points!

Posted by Robert Amato (Bob Amato of Empire Home Mortgage Inc) over 9 years ago

Howard and Susan - thank you!  Glad you enjoyed this one too!

Lee - here is what a covered up HVAC register looked like in another home, final inspection.

Pretty clear what is going on there, but hard to find without an IR camera!

Sorry to hear that Anne.  Life experience is a cruel but effective teacher.

Richie - thanks!  Due diligence says look around!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Michael - he has no choice but to fix this one.  Just how he does it is very important.

Mike R. - I have done pre-drywall inspections for years and they are super relevant to the building process.

Patricia - I'm glad that you find them good reads!  As you already know...

What does that mean Bob?  How do I post it there?  Is that a group?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Great tip about something most people wouldn't think twice about.  Pre drywall inspection sure would help catch potential problems when they can still be fixed for a lot less cost.  This inspection would almost always pay for itself.

 

Posted by Phil Hillerman, Crye-Leike Realtors® (Crye-Leike Realtors®) over 9 years ago

Almost all inspections pay for themselves Phil!  Some many thousands of times!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

I learned this lesson the hard way, when I bought a house in Greenville, SC.  If only I knew then what I know now.  LOL

Greg J. Gardner 

Posted by Greg J. Gardner, Writer and Author, RE Investor (Writer and Author - Black Friday) over 9 years ago

I should reblog this to my sphere of influence. Thanks for the information.

Posted by Robert L. Brown, Grand Rapids Real Estate Bellabay Realty, West Mic (www.mrbrownsellsgr.com) over 9 years ago

HI Jay,

another perfect post, great information that many buyers (and agents)  just have not realized, Will reblog and hpe to inform our blog visitors.

Thanks for sharingPerfectly Pfanntastic

Posted by Peter Pfann @ eXp Realty Pfanntastic Properties in Victoria, Since 1986., Talk To or Text Peter 250-213-9490 (eXp Realty, Victoria BC www.pfanntastic.com) over 9 years ago

That's one of the reasons I have dealing with builders.  They don't give a damn if they screw their clients.

Posted by Justin Dibbs, REALTOR® - Ashburn Virginia Homes for Sale (Pearson Smith Realty) over 9 years ago

 

   Excellent advice! As a general contractor/builder, I concur as to the value of this type of inspection.  No one can catch everything, including the city/county inspectors with their (usually) limited time.  We all also seem to look for different things.  I have always adivsed my custom home clients on the benefits of fumigation just before the drywall is hung, or right after but before it's taped, due the damage I've seen done, frequently very quickly, to wood by the various bugs that often come in with the lumber.  Sad that these suggestions are so rarely heeded.

 

Posted by John J. Woods, Going where no man has gone before - wouldn't you? (Big Dog Press, LLC) over 9 years ago

Greg - we learn as we live!  The idea is to learn wisdom from it as well.

Thanks Robert, for your appreciation and the reblog!

Peter and Linda - thank you for the thumbs up AND the reblog!

Justin - I think the companies do care, but the supervisors and subs are the crux of what finished product gets to the buyer.

John - I have never heard of a general fumigation prior to drywall!  Here they spray the lower 3' or so with copper naphthenate.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Drywall hides all those building errors...good post!

Posted by James Lowenstern, Castles Unlimited. Newton MA Real Estate (Castles Unlimited®) over 9 years ago

James - drywall makes everything look fresh, clean and pretty, and, you're right, hidden!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Once again you show how nothing can ever replace a good home inspection and that includes on new construction! Great post!

Posted by Barbara-Jo Roberts Berberi, MA, PSA, TRC - Greater Clearwater Florida Residential Real Estate Professional, Palm Harbor, Dunedin, Clearwater, Safety Harbor (Charles Rutenberg Realty) over 9 years ago

Thanks Barbara-Jo.  So, is the dihydrogen monoxide there really clear?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

It never ceases to amaze me how people try to cut corners to save time and money.....and that is why home inspections are so very important. Thanks for the post!

Posted by Rosalie Evans, The Evans Group, Sioux Falls, SD Homes For Sale (Meritus Group Real Estate) over 9 years ago

Agreed, never buy that line. Just because it's new doesn't mean it's right.

Posted by Robert Butler, Montreal Home Inspector | Aspect Inspection (Aspect Inspection) over 9 years ago

Jay, Glad that she called you and that you had the time to do this on the day that she needed it.  I bet you've got a client if and when she needs another inspection done.  Great Job!

Posted by Don Barrett (Integrity Real Estate Services) over 9 years ago

You're welcome Rosalie!  My aunt's name was Rosalie, by the way.  I think the HVAC guys knew that hole was there but "forgot" to get back to it after lunch.

Robert - for sure.  The final product depends on the supervisor there every day and the quality of the subs.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Don and Judi - we are already scheduled for a final inspection.  Now the supervisor knows he is being watched!  And thanks for the reblog!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Jay, I think a lot of homeowners would be amazed if they actually knew what happened before the drywall went up.

Posted by Damon Gettier, Broker/Owner ABRM, GRI, CDPE (Damon Gettier & Associates, REALTORS- Roanoke Va Short Sale Expert) over 9 years ago

Jay,

Such an inspection, far as I know, never takes place here. Sure, never is a long time, but I have never heard of anyone doing one.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) over 9 years ago

Thanks for the reminder, Jay. I remember learning about new home inspections, but I wonder how often they actually get done. I'm re-blogging this one, too.

Posted by Raine Carraway over 9 years ago

"New Construction" does NOT mean you don't need a home inspection, if anything, as you point out, it should be a red flag for getting a THOROUGH home inspection.  It's amazing what gets missed, and you're right, if it doesn't get fixed then, it will always be one of "those quirks about this house." Thanks for sharing.

Posted by Drick Ward Property Management / Broker Assoc, "RealtorDrick" - Experienced Representation (NEPTUNE REALTY) over 9 years ago

Jay:

Good catch.  Good think your client had that nagging feeling about pre-drywall inspection.  Thanks for the reminder.

Posted by Evelyn Kennedy, Alameda, Real Estate, Alameda, CA (Alain Pinel Realtors) over 9 years ago

Dear Jay - A humorous and thorough post as always - and as to (#34) comment - it is coming up on BEACH TIME - it better be clear and beautiful!

Have a happy day - 
Lynn

Posted by Lynn B. Friedman, Concierge Service for Our Atlanta Sellers & Buyers (Atlanta Homes ODAT Realty Call/Text 404-939-2727 Buckhead - Midtown - Westside -- and more ...) over 9 years ago

Damon - not just the things I have seen, but what I have been told by carpenters, well, you are right!

And we didn't around here, Steve, until about 15 years ago, when, um, the influx of so many professionals who congregate at the 7-11 employment offices grew so much.

Thanks for the reblog Raine.  Of all the new construction inspections that could be done, this one is probably the most important.

Drick - I once had a builder tell my client that I am a "placebo" and not necessary.  I did a post about it.  On that one the HVAC was totally reversed with air blowing from the returns and returning through the registers!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

We should all probably go with those feelings Evelyn.  I'm glad for her that she did.

Glad you enjoyed it Lynn!  Well, I was just wondering if Clearwater lived up to its billing.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

I thought everything coud be fixed with duct tape... back to the drawing board...

Posted by Donna Harris, Realtor,Mediator,Ombudsman,Property Tax Arbitrator (Donna Homes, powered by JPAR - TexasRealEstateMediationServices.com) over 9 years ago

It was for years Donna!  Oh, wait, it still is!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Big lesson learned for me (before I went into real estate): my husband and I were buying an almost new home that was a foreclosure. He talked me into not getting an inspection because the "bank wouldn't fix anything anyway"....BIG MISTAKE. We moved in in November, with no heat and no hot water!!!! Didn't know it, and it was not pleasant considering we were out in the middle of nowhere with no phone, staying at our "vacation home".

I use this as an example for my clients, learn from my mistakes!!

Posted by Gayle Rich-Boxman Fishhawk Lake Real Estate, "Your Local Expert!" 503-755-2905 (John L Scott Market Center) over 9 years ago

Jay...Thank you. I heard something new with each post you do.

 

Jerry Gray CRB,CRS,GRI,SFR/ Allen Tate Realtors / Winston Salem, NC / 336-918-2433

Posted by Jerry Gray, Serving the Triad Since 1980 (Wilkinson ERA Real Estate) over 9 years ago

After reading all of your pre-drywall inspection posts, I have to wonder what is behind mine.

Posted by Cynthia Larsen, Independent Broker In Sonoma County, CA over 9 years ago

Some of us wonder about funky things going on in houses after we buy them, and do wonder if things were done correctly.  I know of a neighborhood where many of the houses of one model had roof leaks.  Sort of suspect that several built the same year did. And I'm sure the builder and inspectors signed off on all of them. Later models had no problems.  Hmm, they apparently figured out their mistake.  Wonder if someone ordered a pre-drywall inspection!

Posted by Karen Crowson, Your Agent for Change (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) over 9 years ago

I always suggest to buyers, whether buying resale or brand new, get it inspected by your OWN inspector.

Betty Bart

Fine Homes in 905

Posted by Betty Bartusevicius, Fine Homes In 905 (Re/Max Realty Specialists Inc., Brokerage) over 9 years ago
Good advice.
Posted by Jim McCormack, Nashville Short Sale REALTOR - Stop Foreclosure (Nashville Short Sale Specialist - Jim McCormack - Edge Advantage Realty, LLC - 615-784-EDGE (3343)) over 9 years ago

Good example Gayle.  This kind of thing happens more than people would like to think.  Maybe not to that degree, but more often than thought.

Great Jerry!  Keep listening!

Me too Cynthia!  I didn't have time to do the one on my house.  They gave me no notice it was ready and the drywall was up when I got by!  This was 13 years ago...

Karen - I find on pre-drywall inspections that a mistake made in one place is made in lots more, if not all.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Sound advice Betty.  I wish more people did!

Jim - thanks!  We will keep them coming!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Woah...great catch!   Education is the key to good results!  Thanks.

Posted by Monica Hess, Kentucky's Feng Shui Master (Feng Shui This Kentucky) over 9 years ago

Monica - it is easier to see without drywall...  My X-ray vision has gotten much worse over the years.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Great post, Jay!  My niche market is Victorian homes.  We have inspections, and rarely do we find anything major wrong.  The ones that are almost always the problems are the new builds.  This was certainly an eye opener.  Thanks!

Posted by Mimi Foster, Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor (Falcon Property Solutions) over 9 years ago

Hi Jay, Something tells me the repair would be something short of your recommendation.  Well done !

Posted by Bill Gillhespy, Fort Myers Beach Realtor, Fort Myers Beach Agent - Homes & Condos (16 Sunview Blvd) over 9 years ago

Mimi - I have more problems with new construction than with old!

Bill - I hop it isn't duct tape!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Agee with you 100% on your line...just sometimes hard to convince clients on this.

"DON'T EVER BUY THE LINE THAT IT IS A NEW HOME AND INSPECTIONS ARE NOT NECESSARY!"

Posted by Vimal Patel (Homelife Royalcorp Real Estate Brokerage., Inc) over 9 years ago

Thanks for posting Jay!  Trust but verify - Which is why your role is sooo important!  Love the suggestion of a photo after the repair.  

Posted by Joshua Vensel (VENVISIO - Real Estate Photography - Atlanta, GA) over 9 years ago

I had a $2M home I sold once - new construction - and during our inspection, we discovered the auto sprinkling system installed over the intricatly carved box beam ceiling wasn't hooked up properly.  Had they been activated the ceiling would have flooded!

Yes it pays to have inspections.

Posted by Sally Dunbar, Fair Oaks Realtor - Fair Oaks Homes for Sale (Lyon Real Estate, Fair Oaks CA (Sacramento Area)) over 9 years ago

Reblogged - I agree this is great consumer information

Posted by Beverly Femia, Broker Realtor Stager - Greater Wilmington, NC Are (BlueCoast Realty Corporation) over 9 years ago

Jay, the education you give those of us who have never been in the construction industry is invaluable. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and enthusiam for the business.

Posted by Suzi Sandore, North County San Diego Homes (RealtyONEGroup) over 9 years ago

Jay-Thanks for the information. I will definitely pass it on to my clients.

Posted by Ray Waisler, NMLS #6621 - Specializing in Jumbo FHA & VA (Finance of America) over 9 years ago

I walked away from a $650,000 listing recently because there was mold on the old stone foundation, and the Seller's solution was to put drywall up around it.  He wouldn't disclose it on the SPD, and I could not, in good conscience, not tell prospective Buyers, so I folded my hand and walked away. 

Posted by Mimi Foster, Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor (Falcon Property Solutions) over 9 years ago

When my husband was building custom homes we often "lost out" to low bidders. Then a year later the people would come back, asking if he could fix what the bargain basement builder had done.

No - not interested in taking on that kind of liability.

Posted by Marte Cliff, Your real estate writer (Marte Cliff Copywriting) over 9 years ago

Vimal - and there are those who don't hear me when I say that.

Joshua - pretty important to take a photo before the cover up!  Are you available?

Sally - and there is only one time to be able to see that sort of thing!

Beverly - thanks for the reblog!  All this stuff is good consumer info!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

I am glad you enjoy it so much Suzi!  And I am happy to demonstrate my enthusiasm.

Ray - good move!  And stop by some more!

Very smart Mimi.  I found severe mold once on a house which canned the deal.  It was a lot.  The selling agent went in there and just scrubbed it with bleach!  You do realize that that doesn't work, right?

Marte - why fix some other schmuck's work?  Well, unless you're Mike Holmes and get paid by TV stuff to do it!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

We always recommend our clients that build have it inspected at different stages!  Great post!

 

Posted by Brenda, Ron, Lee Cunningham & Tara Keator, Realtors, Homes for Sale - Phoenix Metro (West USA Realty) over 9 years ago

Thanks B&R!  These pre-drywall inspections are really essential.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

She would have never figured out the problem and the odds are it would never have been fixed.  Good job.

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) over 9 years ago

New Construction.......oh my, more important than any other home out there. Scary when I hear oh its a new house and it comes with a warranty.....ha, get a inspection.

Posted by F U, Dead (nobody) over 9 years ago

I might have been able to figure out where the problem originated with my thermal camera Gene, but until drywall was removed we would not have known what the problem was.

Janine - I have more problems on new construction than old typically!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

Jay - Makes sense to me.  Your title says it all.  Does county government get involved in inspections where you live?  Came from Kansas and it seemed it was up and coming!

Posted by Robert Courtney, Century 21 All Islands, RA, CDPE, MCRE, CIAS over 9 years ago

Robert - the county had already "approved" this house for drywall, which was to go up that afternoon.  What can I say?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 9 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments